//
you're reading...
Articles

Epiphany

By Laura Sánchez

Retrieved from tumblr.com of Raven Symone

Submitted photo of Bre-enna Neychole Addison

Retrieved from tower.com of Raven Symone

The Bill Cosby Show, Dr. Dolittle, That’s So Raven, The Cheetah Girls…These are just a few of the things people have called her throughout her life.  People see her and they stare and they stare some more and they are surprised.  An epiphany!

She stands 5 feet 3 inches tall.  Her skin is brown.  Her hair is always in style.  Her smile is like half a moon.  Along with her gleaming eyes, her thick eyebrows are an image of each other.  Her nails express her girly girl side.

As I was exiting the campus she was entering.  We met each other at the door.  She smiled and said “Hi.”  I replied, “Hi.”  I thought, “Oh, how nice.”  I stood outside the door for a moment, thinking “where have I seen her before”.  Then as I kept on walking to my car, I shouted, Thats So Raven.  I ran back to see her one more time, but she was gone.

Bre-enna Neychole Addison is her name…not Raven Symone…not cheetah girl…Bre-enna or Bre as she prefers.

A biology major at Texas A&M University-Texarkana, Bre said she is used to be being confused with Raven.

“It happens in twos,” Bre said. “Usually someone will come and tell me that I look like that girl from That’s So Raven or The Cheetah Girls.  Then next thing you know another person will do the same.”

Bre has been mistaken for famous Disney Star Raven since she was a little girl.  The first time was when she was four years old.

“My parents and family would always tell me I looked like her,” Bre said. “Oh, and my mom’s friends, well they just could not get over it.”

She was then told she looked like the little girl from The Bill Cosby Show.

As she grew older, more and more people would tell her the same.

“You are the girl from Dr. Dolittle,” Bre said referring to what people would tell her when she was around 12 years old.

At 14, Bre remembers people telling her she looked like Raven from the Disney TV series That’s So Raven.

Then, she was confused with the girl from The Cheetah Girls.

“One day, as I was baby-sitting, the kids were watching The Cheetah Girls movie.  Then, a lady walked in and she said “Oh my gosh, that’s you,” Bre said. “I said ‘no’.”

Although she did mention she would not have mind being famous, 21-year-old Bre is following her dreams.

“I would love to become a doctor or a nurse practitioner,” Bre said. “Whatever I do I just want to be successful and happy.”

Biology major Ana Cecilia Gabriel said she has maintained a friendship with Bre for three years.

“I think Bre-enna is very respectful, extremely patient and kind,” Gabriel said. “She always puts others before herself, tries to help and works very hard…I just know she will make a wonderful doctor someday.”

Bre also mentioned she would like to learn sign language and take piano lessons.

Her hobbies include studying, sleeping, reading, watching movies, going on picnics and spending time with family and friends.

“My mom tells me all the time that I should go out,” Bre said.  “But I don’t have to be out and about, like clubbing and stuff.”

As I made a quick drinking hand sign, she looked lost for a moment.  Then she busted out laughing.

“I told you I don’t do sign language,” Bre said in reference to her alcoholic abstinence.

Bre recalls two special moments in her life.  One, the day she graduated high school.  She was very content as she spoke.

“That day my family was so proud of me,” Bre said.  “They really expressed to me how much they cared.”

She sat there, twirling her hair, eyes wondering, as she thought about what she was going to say next.

“Another special moment in my life is family reunions,” Bre said.  “We used to get together every three years.  I remember one time at Spring Lake Park. Everyone was smiling and having fun.  The kids were running from the geese!”

Bre, a normal young college girl, is far from dreaming about becoming the next Raven, at least in the famous way.

“I don’t really know much about her…I mean I don’t ‘google’ her on purpose,” Bre said.

Bre does admire Raven, though.

“I do know she is a positive role model because the media never portrays her in a negative way,” Bre said.

Bre also said that everyone has someone that looks like him or her in the world.

As of right now, Bre is Raven’s ‘twin’.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

